Search and verify licenses
Sample Ohio Tattoo License

Ohio Tattoo License

Indeed, you can want to get information about how to obtain an Ohio tattoo license, what laws regulate it, and what procedures are there. So, you must read the complete article. If you are moving to Ohio from Alabama, Oklahoma, or Arizona, you need to familiarize yourself with the rules of the law here.

How to Get a License to Tattoo?

In Ohio, the local health department handles licensing rather than a governmental organization. Contact the Health Department and describe your plans to learn more about the particular rules for the municipality or county where you wish to operate. The professionals working there will provide you with a detailed list of training requirements.

Once you finish the training, fill out the application and demonstrate that you’ve met all the prerequisites. You will receive a permit by mail if you pay the money while submitting your application.

Requirements for education

Before you become a licensed artist in Ohio, you must first finish a training school. Training classes are provided at a variety of locations around the country. Artist training focuses on skin art, fundamental methods, and the usage of shop supplies (such as needles and ink). Before you may perform tattoos on your own, some local health agencies may demand an internship in a licensed tattoo establishment.

Initial licensing can take up to 30 days. Completed documentation you must send, email, fax, or deliver to their office, where staff will evaluate it. They schedule a permit inspection when they have examined the papers. Once authorized, they mail you, which you should display on your premises.

How much does an Ohio tattoo license cost?

The initial one costs $300. This can be included with your request or delivered to the inspector during your inspection. The yearly licensing cost of $300 is submitted at the beginning of each year along with a renewal application. The permits, issued on or after October 1st, are valid until the following December 31st.

What if I want to provide services to minors under the age of 18?

Any customer under 18 must have a parent or guardian sign a consent blank and be present throughout the service. A copy of the parent/guardian’s IDs must be kept on file. If the client and parent have different surnames, proof of guardianship must be presented.

What if I want to renovate or alter the services I offer?

If you intend to renovate your facility or add or change the services you offer, notify us about it. This might include:

  • Changing or adding rooms to the object
  • Adding piercing to your services when you have a permit only for tattooing

If you wish to transition from single-use instruments to autoclave sterilizers, you may need to file a Plan Review Request blank and have a re-inspection depending on the revisions.

Where should I submit my application?

Firstly, send, email, or drop off your completed request at:

250 William Howard Taft Road, 2nd Floor, Cincinnati, OH 45219 Hamilton County Public Health Waste Management Division

Call the Waste Management Division at 513-946-7879 if you have any concerns regarding the Ohio tattoo licensing procedure or what is necessary.